What’s for Dinner: Inspired by Pork

Posted on October 18, 2011

1



It’s the other white meat and it couldn’t be tastier. To celebrate National Pork Month (yes, that’s October), I am participating in Costco’s Blogger Recipe Challenge. And I’ve been tasked to work my very basic culinary skills on Pork Tenderloin!

On Sunday, I went to Costco to get a membership!

And then I set off for the meat department.

Ooh look a piano…

…and drums

So many distractions at Costco, ooh and yummy samples.

But I found it! They  have pork specials running all month in honor of National Pork Month. This week, you can get $2 off a package of pork tenderloin. It is a wholesome cut of park packed with tons of flavor and is as lean as a skinless chicken breast.

Truth be told I usually purchase the seasoned pork tenderloin so to do something from scratch was an interesting challenge. Luckily, my foodie friends like Bobby AKA @100eats100days, bloggers Priscilla @shescookin and Anita aka @madhungrywoman had my back. They unanimously suggested that I BRINE the meat first. Each of them had their own brining solutions, so I ended up doing the most basic brining technique: salt + water. Brining is the perfect way to keep pork moist.

Find out more about how my pork recipe adventure turned out and get a chance to win a $25 Costco Gift Card later this week. I will also share two recipes with you. So be sure to come back on Friday, October 21st for your chance to win.

Disclosure: This post is part of a compensated campaign with Costco and The Motherhood. Costco provided a complimentary 1 year membership stipend, and the $25 gift card for the giveaway. All opinions expressed in this article are my own and not influenced in any way by anyone. 

Posted in: Blogging, Food