Guest Review: Disney on Ice – Mickey and Minnie’s Magical Journey

Posted on October 6, 2010

0


Written by my friend, fellow suburban mama and fab  blogger Stacey Soleil

Friday night me and my girls made “Imagination our Destination” as we put our mouse ears on and headed out to Ontario for the much anticipated, Disney On Ice. This was the first event we’ve ever attended at the Citizens Business Bank Arena, and boy were we in for a treat. First of all, the parking was hassle free and practically every spot was close (enough) to the entrance. Let me tell you, those of us with tons of kids in tow, truly appreciate well thought out parking accomodations, it lessens the headache right from the get go. The line to get into the event moved quickly and seamlessly, and once we stepped foot inside the arena, we were magically transported into the magical world of Disney. Everywhere you looked there were Disney themed goodies, toys, lights and sounds. Needless to say, the kids were in Disney character heaven as they saw all of the themed concessions, and all of the little kids guests dressed up in their fun Disney attire. In fact, it kind of reminded me of Halloween seeing all of the cute little munchkins in their costumes, running around have a grand ole time. I was pleasantly surprised as the staff inside the complex were extremely helpful and patient as they guided our group to our seats. (*Bonus* It wasn’t like I was getting extra special treatment as a member of the press either, I saw them doing this for anyone that asked for directions! Talk about refreshing customer service.) Once we were seated and got our popcorn & drinks from the traveling snack vendor, the lights went down and we were greeted with a grand display of lights, music and our VIP hosts; Mickey & Minnie Mouse, Donald Duck and Goofy! WooHoo!!!

The show was amazing. It was a spectacle of special FX, talented skaters, light shows, music and  all too familiar dialogue. The “skits” of the Disney movies that were highlighted in the program were: The Little Mermaid, The Lion King, Lilo & Stitch, and Peter Pan. We were all in awe as we discovered Ariel and Sebastian’s enchanting undersea kingdom; visited the Pride Lands with Simba and Nala; soared through the starry skies with Peter Pan, Tinkerbell and Wendy; and waved “Aloha” to the islander favorites, Lilo & Stitch. We seriously spent the entire show dancing in our seats and singing along to the theme songs we all know and love. I can honestly say that it was two of the most enjoyable hours my girls and I have spent watching a live show. The characters were brilliant at keeping the crowd captivated, the dialogue was familiar (which helps keep the kids interested), the humor was entertaining, & the beauty and laughter was so magical that we could hardly believe how fast the time flew by.

Now I realize that I am certainly not a fancy pants show critic or an aficionado of ice skating technical merit, but in my humble opinion, the cast was extremely talented, the story lines were fun, and regardless of age, (pint sized or adult), Disney on Ice is definitely on my top ten list for a fun family night out. Now if I could just get those theme songs OUT of my head! 😉

