Baby Loves Disco Grows Up

Posted on December 29, 2009

0


It’s hard to believe it’s been 5 years since baby learned to love disco; and almost 3 years since this video was taken at my first ever Baby Loves Disco Event in Philadelphia. It was a cold afternoon on the last day of the year, when my boys and I and another couple and their little girl celebrated Noon Year’s eve at hip happening club Shampoo. The scene was wild and fun, the concept was new. I was an instant fan.

Check out my son at 1:14 – while his older rocked out he mostly stared at the lights. Years later in Orange County he started dancing too – those are my boys to the left of the screen doing those John Travolta moves at 1:22 (Slideshow courtesy of Jazz It Up Photo)

From a little party in Philadelphia, Baby Loves Disco spread throughout the nation and eventually became an international sensation. I happily got involved as a volunteer at the first OC BLD at the Shark Club in Costa Mesa. It was even there that I launched my photography business (Thanks Andrea!) and where I met the most awesome mommies like Andrea, Arianne, and Blythe in Orange County. (We had just moved from New Jersey, you see.)

My kids are little too big for BLD now but we’re still in search of an alternative family-oriented music-themed party! Recently I received news from the BLD Head Honchos Heather and Andy through their newsletter that Baby Loves Disco will be undergoing changes in 2010 — instead of monthly dance parties in different US cities, they will become a touring entity – yup, like a band or circus. BLD will take the show on the road.

Bring on the changes, like all our babies, this one’s growing up.

