Happy New School-Year

Posted on September 6, 2009

1


Listen. Can you hear it? Exactly. Nothing. Silence. No fighting. No giggling. No video games or Cartoon Network. Just the sound of quiet.

Ah yeas, the kids are back in school and for many SAHMS and WAHMS like me, it means a return to normal. And by normal I mean more regimented, more scheduled. As much as we love our children, aren’t those 2-3 hours they are away in preschool precious? It is during this time that we can work, breathe, get things done.

Anxious Mamas peer through the windows - and this is third grade!

Anxious Mamas peer through the windows - and this is third grade!

There it goes again. The sound of silence. In this silence, we can hear our own thoughts. A rare feat when you are a mom.

More than the actual new year, for many moms, the new year begins when school starts. There is a flurry of activity leading up to that day in September. There are things to get rid off, new things to buy. It is an exciting time not just for our little ones – but for us! At least that’s the way it feels for me.

Even when I was in school, I always gelt that the TRUE NEW YEAR didn’t start on the 1st of January but rather on the first day of school. There was the anticipation. The excitement. (What teacher will I get? Who will my classmates be?) Reflecting on the past year (or summer for school kids), and looking forward to new things, new people. And of course, making new year’s resolutions.

And so, with this in mind, I share some of my family’s resolutions.

For my kids:

I promise to wake up on time.
I promise not to complain too much.
I promise to concentrate in class, do my homework on time and eat my lunch

For me:
I promise to wake up on time.
I promise not to complain too much.
I promise to concentrate on my job — that is my real job and my real real job (which is taking care of the family).
I promise to help my kids do their homework without doing too much.
I promise to make nutritious lunches for my kids.

What are YOUR new school year resolutions?

