From Suburban Mama ezine Vol. III, No.4:Confessions of a Closet Greenie

Posted on April 14, 2008

5


At some point you have to make a stand and do your part about saving the planet. While it may seem like a fad to Go Green right now, we all know deep inside the inconvenient truth and that is that going green is “necessary.”  Fifteen years ago (did I just reveal my age?!) I wrote my college thesis on using biodegradable bags for shopping. It seemed like a radical concept back then but now it’s becoming more acceptable.  The other day, my husband was surprised to find that we hardly had any more plastic grocery bags at home. I told him it was because I’d been toting the reusable bags to the store.  “So what am I going to use now to pick up doggy-poop???” he said aghast.  The brand new pooper scooper  of course, I replied.  You see, that’s one of those little things you can do towards going green – using something that is reusable over something that is disposable (and shudder, non-biodegradable), so think Klean Kanteen instead of   plastic water bottles, and lunchboxes instead of  plastic lunch bags.

I haven’t convinced my husband to get a Prius yet but my son keeps bugging us about using CFC’s which we do, and recycling which we do. But I have to say, we do not compost nor do we eschew all packaging.  If you buy in bulk (which we try to do as much as we can), it seems the ubiquitous zip-loc bag is a necessary evil. However, we do buy more fruit and veggies from Farmer’s markets now but we have yet to go organic all the way.

In this issue, find out what suburban mamas like you are doing to reduce their carbon footprint.  It’s not as hard as you think! Take little steps to make big changes. You will be amazed at how going green can actually help your budget too.  Sign up to get our ezine delivered right into your inbox.

Plus-enter to win some eco-friendly party giveaways from Green Party Goods or an organic nesting pillow from Blessed Nest simply by leaving a comment on the blog! Winners will be randomly chosen and will be announced in the May issue.

Please, please check out our generous eco-friendly sponsors who are giving away exclusive discounts!  —MT

